texas dog chaining law

The Texas Health and Safety Code regarding the unlawful restraint of dogs. After reading the code, if you are concerned that a dog is improperly restrained or chained, call 311.

Texas Dog Chaining Law

Texas Health and Safety Code, Title 10. Health and Safety of Animals, Chapter 821. Treatment and Disposition of Animals, Subchapter D. Unlawful Restraint of Dog

Sec. 821.076. DEFINITIONS. In this subchapter:

(1) “Collar” means any collar constructed of nylon, leather, or similar material, specifically designed to be used for a dog.

(2) “Owner” means a person who owns or has custody or control of a dog.

(3) “Properly fitted” means, with respect to a collar, a collar that measures the circumference of a dog’s neck plus at least one inch.

(4) “Restraint” means a chain, rope, tether, leash, cable, or other device that attaches a dog to a stationary object or trolley system.

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 674 (H.B. 1411), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 2007.

Texas Chaining Law for Dogs

Sec. 821.077. UNLAWFUL RESTRAINT OF DOG.

(a) An owner may not leave a dog outside and unattended by use of a restraint that unreasonably limits the dog’s movement:

(1) between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.;

(2) within 500 feet of the premises of a school; or

(3) in the case of extreme weather conditions, including conditions in which:

(A) the actual or effective outdoor temperature is below 32 degrees Fahrenheit;

(B) a heat advisory has been issued by a local or state authority or jurisdiction; or

(C) a hurricane, tropical storm, or tornado warning has been issued for the jurisdiction by the National Weather Service.

(b) In this section, a restraint unreasonably limits a dog’s movement if the restraint:

(1) uses a collar that is pinch-type, prong-type, or choke-type or that is not properly fitted to the dog;

(2) is a length shorter than the greater of:

(A) five times the length of the dog, as measured from the tip of the dog’s nose to the base of the dog’s tail; or

(B) 10 feet;

(3) is in an unsafe condition; or

(4) causes injury to the dog.

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 674 (H.B. 1411), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 2007.

 

Sec. 821.078. EXCEPTIONS. Section 821.077 does not apply to:

(1) a dog restrained to a running line, pulley, or trolley system and that is not restrained to the running line, pulley, or trolley system by means of a pinch-type, prong-type, choke-type, or improperly fitted collar;

(2) a dog restrained in compliance with the requirements of a camping or recreational area as defined by a federal, state, or local authority or jurisdiction;

(3) a dog restrained for a reasonable period, not to exceed three hours in a 24-hour period, and no longer than is necessary for the owner to complete a temporary task that requires the dog to be restrained;

(4) a dog restrained while the owner is engaged in, or actively training for, an activity that is conducted pursuant to a valid license issued by this state if the activity for which the license is issued is associated with the use or presence of a dog;

(5) a dog restrained while the owner is engaged in conduct directly related to the business of shepherding or herding cattle or livestock; or

(6) a dog restrained while the owner is engaged in conduct directly related to the business of cultivating agricultural products, if the restraint is reasonably necessary for the safety of the dog.

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 674 (H.B. 1411), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 2007.

 

Sec. 821.079. PENALTY.

(a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates this subchapter.

(b) A peace officer or animal control officer who has probable cause to believe that an owner is violating this subchapter shall provide the owner with a written statement of that fact. The statement must be signed by the officer and plainly state the date on which and the time at which the statement is provided to the owner.

(c) A person commits an offense if the person is provided a statement described by Subsection (b) and fails to comply with this subchapter within 24 hours of the time the owner is provided the statement. An offense under this subsection is a Class C misdemeanor.

(d) A person commits an offense if the person violates this subchapter and previously has been convicted of an offense under this subchapter. An offense under this subsection is a Class B misdemeanor.

(e) If a person fails to comply with this subchapter with respect to more than one dog, the person’s conduct with respect to each dog constitutes a separate offense.

(f) If conduct constituting an offense under this section also constitutes an offense under any other law, the actor may be prosecuted under this section, the other law, or both.

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 674 (H.B. 1411), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 2007.

 

Sec. 821.080. DISPOSITION OF PENALTY. Notwithstanding any other law, the clerk of a court that collects a penalty under this subchapter shall remit the penalty collected for deposit in the general fund of the county.

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 674 (H.B. 1411), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 2007.

 

Sec. 821.081. HAND-HELD LEASHES. This subchapter does not prohibit a person from walking a dog with a hand-held leash.

Added by Acts 2007, 80th Leg., R.S., Ch. 674 (H.B. 1411), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 2007.